Handmade Gifts · Quilting

Handmade Christmas- The Mom quilt aka Pixel Potter

When the time came to make a decision for my mom, there were two challenges that made things difficult:
#1- She is a quilter herself and can make herself quilts easily, so I had to find a pattern that she wasn’t familiar with
#2- There are so many hobbies that I could have picked to work with when making a quilt for her.

In the end, I decided to go with a Harry Potter quilt since we both love HP. While there are tons of awesome quilt patterns online, I wanted to find something different for her than a pattern she would be able to find herself.

I saw tons of people on Instagram adapting various cross stitch patterns to make pixel quilts, and an idea was born. I found an amazing series of patterns for cross stitch by Clouds Factory and bought one with a large variety of characters to choose from. After all, if I make one HP quilt, I have a feeling I am going to have to make a few more in the future.

 

Details:

Finished size approximately 15×24
Fabrics used- Kona solids on the front, Joann Harry Potter licensed on the back, bound in more Kona
Quilted and applique’d using Gutermann 50w in polyester and cotton

And the final quilt, along with my mom who adores her Pixel Potter- and I have a feeling she will be requesting another character in the future!

Mom-quiltIMG_4430

Would I make this again? Absolutely. I’d just get better fusible adhesive before I make another quilt, and potentially tweak the size to make them even smaller.

 

One thought on “Handmade Christmas- The Mom quilt aka Pixel Potter

Leave a Reply

